Vale on Negotiations with Iron Ore Clients



    RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil, Sept. 9 /CNW/ -- Companhia Vale do Rio Doce
(NYSE:   RIO) (Vale), in compliance with a determination of Brazil's Comissao de
Valores Mobiliarios (CVM), informs that it is negotiating with Asian clients
the convergence of reference prices for iron ore to the same level of those
charged to European clients. Currently, reference prices for Asian clients are
11.0% to 11.5% lower than prices for Europe, depending on the type of iron
ore.
    Vale highlights that this negotiation is not concluded and there is no
guarantee that it will be successfully concluded. If the price convergence is
implemented, it will imply in an estimated revenue increase smaller than 3.0%
of Vale's total revenue for the twelve-month period ended at June 30, 2008, of
US$ 35.5 billion.
    Vale




For further information:

For further information: Roberto Castello Branco,
roberto.castello.branco@vale.com, or Alessandra Gadelha,
alessandra.gadelha@vale.com, or Patricia Calazans, patricia.calazans@vale.com,
or Theo Penedo, theo.penedo@vale.com, or Marcus Thieme,
marcus.thieme@vale.com, or Tacio Neto, tacio.neto@vale.com, all of Vale,
+011-55-21-3814-4540 Web Site: http://www.vale.com

Organization Profile

COMPANHIA VALE DO RIO DOCE

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890