VALE Makes Clear on Negotiations



    RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil, Jan. 21 /CNW/ -- Companhia Vale do Rio Doce
(VALE) is constantly analyzing options for organic growth and/or acquisitions
of assets and companies as part of its continuous search for shareholder value
creation.
    In an environment of a global consolidation of the mining industry, VALE
has been maintaining a dialogue with Xstrata Plc management. At the moment,
these discussions had not produced any material result yet.
    On the other hand, VALE continues to analyze several other options,
involving different mining assets. Similarly, these negotiations did not
generate any concrete result yet.
    Simultaneously, VALE has been exploring with banks several ways to
support its growth initiatives in the event it decides to effectively pursue
one of the above-mentioned options.
    VALE considers that the current conditions prevailing in the global
financial markets may constrain the realization of a major strategic move.
Therefore, it will keep the prudential posture that has been one of the
hallmarks of its management over the years.
    VALE informs that any decision on acquisitions requires the approval of
its corporate governance bodies and it will be publicly announced.




For further information:

For further information: Roberto Castello Branco, 
roberto.castello.branco@cvrd.com.br, or Alessandra Gadelha, 
alessandra.gadelha@cvrd.com.br, or Patricia Calazans, 
patricia.calazans@cvrd.com.br, or Marcelo Silva Braga, 
marcelo.silva.braga@cvrd.com.br, or Theo Penedo, theo.penedo@cvrd.com.br,  or
Virginia Monteiro, virginia.monteiro@cvrd.com.br, or Marcus Thieme, 
marcus.thieme@cvrd.com.br, all of CVRD, +011-55-21-3814-4540 Web Site:
http://www.cvrd.com.br

Organization Profile

COMPANHIA VALE DO RIO DOCE

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890