National body of teachers honours three educators at awards celebration in Ottawa

    OTTAWA, July 16 /CNW Telbec/ - A former Canadian Teachers' Federation
(CTF) president, a champion of Francophones issues and a leader from
Newfoundland and Labrador are recipients of this year's CTF Special
Recognition Awards. The awards honour the valuable contributions made by
teacher leaders in promoting the teaching profession and, by extension, public
education. CTF President Emily Noble will present the awards tomorrow at an
awards celebration during the Federation's Annual General Meeting in Ottawa,

    Details of the CTF National Awards celebration:

    When:     Friday, July 17, 2009
    Time:     11:45 am
    Where:    Ottawa Marriott Hotel, 100 Kent St., Ottawa, Ontario
    What:     Presentation of CTF Recognition Awards, Public Education
              Advocacy Award and Outstanding Aboriginal Educator Award

    This year's recipients of the CTF Special Recognition Awards are:

    Marilies Rettig, Ontario

    Great leaders combine vision with courageous action while setting the
path for positive change in the world around them. Marilies Rettig has
demonstrated leadership by her current role as the Deputy General Secretary
for the Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO). Her appointment to
the position demonstrated the high regard in which she is held by teachers in
Canada. As president of the Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association
(OECTA), she rebuffed the Harris government's efforts to subvert Ontario's
educational system and provided the impetus for a 37,000-strong rally at
Queen's Park. As Canadian Teachers' Federation (CTF) president, from 1999 to
2001, she put the spotlight on the National Children's Agenda and was a
bedrock of support for teachers engaged in collective action in many parts of

    Guy Matte, Ontario

    As Provincial President, then Executive Director of the Association des
enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO), Guy Matte made his
mark in education both in Ontario and at the national and international
levels. He has been a leader in the Francophone community in Ontario, more
specifically in the process that led Ontario's Francophones to take over the
French-language school governance. In 2004, he was awarded the Ordre de la
Pléiade by the Canadian branch of the Assemblée Parlementaire de la
Francophonie. He sat on the international executive board of the Comité
syndical francophone de l'éducation et de la formation (CSFEF) for ten years.
    Currently retired, Matte continues to share his expertise with unionists
in developing countries as a volunteer for CTF's international cooperation
programs in Rwanda and Guinea.

    Wayne Noseworthy, Newfoundland and Labrador

    Throughout his career, Wayne Noseworthy has been a strong advocate for
teachers in various venues and while serving on numerous committees. As
President of the Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers' Association (NLTA), he
led the Association during its first province-wide teachers' strike in 1983.
In 2003, Wayne was one of the recipients of the Queen's Jubilee Medal for
outstanding contributions to public education in Newfoundland and Labrador. He
is currently Staff Relations Officer with the Newfoundland and Labrador School
Boards Association.

    CTF speaks for nearly 200,000 teachers in Canada as their national voice
on education and related social issues. CTF membership includes teacher
organizations across Canada. CTF ( is also a member of
the international body of teachers, Education International

For further information:

For further information: Comments: Emily Noble, CTF President, (613)
899-4209 (cell); Media Contact: Francine Filion, Director of Communications,
(613) 899-4247 (cell)

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890