National agencies question efficacy of review recommendations



    OTTAWA, Dec. 14 /CNW Telbec/ - National agencies representing 200
Canadian communities and 11 denominations acknowledge the Correctional Service
of Canada's Review Panel recommendations that recognize community
participation in public safety.
    Upon first review, contributing agencies are most concerned with proposed
changes to Statutory Release and building of institutional multi-complexes.
Agencies are also critical of the Review's apparent disregard for
internationally recognized research that demonstrates positive impacts, both
social and economic, through well-managed support and supervision programs.
    Given that over 90% of prisoners will ultimately return to our
communities after incarceration, contributing Associations promote gradual,
supervised re-integration programs that reduce crime and victimization.
    Members of the National Associations Active in Criminal Justice urged the
Panel to invest in community-based services that are essential to improve the
criminal justice system.

    L'Association des Services de Réhabilitation Sociale du Québec
    highlighted the importance of partnership and joint responsibility among
    individuals, groups and social institutions to ensure community vitality.

    The Canadian Associations of Elizabeth Fry Societies emphasized women-
    centred, humane and community-based approaches that address the systemic
    discrimination of criminalized women and recognize international human
    rights covenants.

    The Church Council on Justice and Corrections encouraged the Panel to
    consider Restorative practices that include offenders, victims and
    communities in order to achieve safe reintegration for individuals and
    communities.

    The John Howard Society of Canada stressed the role and purpose of
    corrections as mandated by the Corrections and Conditional Release Act
    and insisted that all programs be developed and carried out in accordance
    with evidence-based knowledge.

    The Salvation Army noted that voluntary sector involvement, increased
    support and community supervision would more appropriately respond to
    community needs and enhance successful reintegration thereby increasing
    public safety.

    St. Leonard's Society of Canada highlighted the value of gradual
    supervision strategies and stressed the importance of innovative
    institutional and community interventions that comprehensively address
    crime.

    Given their collaborative relationship, NAACJ anticipates further
involvement with CSC to examine the Panel's recommendations more closely.
    The Association understands that community realities and robust research
are integral to effective corrections and long-term safety. "Anything less,"
noted The John Howard Society of Canada," puts the public at risk and
politicizes correctional policy."


    For more information, please contact:

    Association des Services de Réhabilitation Sociale du Québec
    Patrick Altimas
    Tel: 514-521-3733
    E-mail: paltimas@asrsq.ca

    Block Parent Program of Canada
    Kelly Pater
    Toll free: 1-800-898-6111
    E-mail: kpater@abbypd.ca

    Canadian Association for Community Living
    Telephone: 416-661-9611
    E-mail: inform@cacl.ca

    Canadian Associations of Elizabeth Fry Societies
    Kim Pate
    Tel: 613-238-2422
    E-mail: kpate@web.net

    Canadian Bar Association
    Kate Ker
    Tel: 604-660-1126
    E-mail: kate.ker@gov.bc.ca

    Canadian Criminal Justice Association
    Irving Kulik
    Tel: 613-725-3715
    E-mail: Ikulik@bellnet.ca

    Canadian Families and Corrections Network
    Lloyd Withers
    Tel: 613-541-0743
    E-mail: cfcn@sympatico.ca

    Canadian Psychological Association
    J. Stephen Wormith
    Tel: 306.966.6818
    E-mail: s.wormith@usask.ca

    Canadian Training Institute
    John Sawdon
    Tel: 416-778-7056
    E-mail: jsawdon@cantraining.org

    The Church Council on Justice and Corrections
    Jane Griffiths
    Tel: 613-563-1688
    E-mail: janegriffiths@rogers.com

    Conflict Resolution Network Canada
    Rose Silvestro
    Tel: 519-885-0880 ext. 274
    E-mail:  rsilvestro@crnetwork.ca

    The John Howard Society of Canada
    Craig Jones
    Tel: 613-384-6272
    E-mail:  cjones@johnhoward.ca

    National Association of Friendship Centres
    Alfred Gay
    Tel: 613-563-4844
    E-mail: alfredg@nafc.ca

    Native Counselling Services of Alberta
    Claire Carefoot
    Tel: 780-451-4002
    E-mail: CarefootCE@CSC-SCC.GC.CA

    The Salvation Army
    Hugh Osler Tel: 416-304-1974 ext. 111
    E-mail: Hugh_Osler@can.salvationarmy.org

    Seventh Step Society of Canada
    George Myette
    Tel:  403-995-4029
    E-mail: g.myette@pajakeng.com

    St. Leonard's Society of Canada
    Elizabeth White
    Tel: 416-920-6116
    E-mail:  eawhite@on.aibn.com

    YOUCAN Youth Canada Association
    Dave Farthing
    Tel: 613-230-1903
    E-mail: dave.farthing@youcan.ca




For further information:

For further information: Patrick Altimas, President, (613) 761-1032

Organization Profile

NATIONAL ASSOCIATIONS ACTIVE IN CRIMINAL JUSTICE (NAACJ)

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890