Media Invitation - Montréal Pride Parade - August 17, 2014 - Attendance of political representatives at annual Pride Parade

Montréal Pride Parade draws show of support from many public figures

MONTRÉAL, August 16, 2014 /CNW Telbec/ - Montréal Pride will welcome many public figures to a press briefing that will be held on Sunday, August 17, at the garden of the Canadian Centre for Architecture on René-Lévesque Boulevard West. A significant number of prominent public figures, including Québec Premier Philippe Couillard, have accepted the invitation to join with the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) communities in a show of support for equal rights for all.


Sunday, August 17, 2014


Garden of the Canadian Centre for Architecture
(corner René-Lévesque and Saint-Marc)

11:45 am

Arrival of guests

Parade set-up area: Please note that René-Lévesque Boulevard is closed from 8:45 am between Guy and Lambert-Closse. Access to vehicles is very limited and the eastbound lane can only be accessed from Atwater to drop off guests. Vehicles may not park near the site and must exit via Guy Street.

12:30 pm

Press briefing

1:00 pm

Parade departure (moment of silence at 2:30 pm)

The Montréal Pride Parade will begin on Sunday, August 17, at 1 pm on René-Lévesque, corner Guy, and will proceed east, ending at Sanguinet.  

As of August 15, politicians from all levels of government have confirmed their presence to walk with Montreal Pride and the LGBT community. 

From the provincial level, Philippe Couillard, Premier of Québec, accompanied by Pierre Arcand, David Birnbaum, Marguerite Blais, Francine Charbonneau, Hélène David, Rita de Santis, Jean Habel, David Heurtel, Pierre Moreau, Stéphanie Vallée and Kathleen Weil will represent the Québec Liberal Party. Jean-François Lisée and Martine Ouellet will represent the Parti québécois. Simon Jolin-Barrette, François Bonnardel, Benoît Charette and Mario Laframboise will represent the Coallition avenir Québec while Françoise David and Manon Massé will represent Québec solidaire.

From the federal level, Irwin Cotler, Emmanuel Dubourg, Marc Garneau and Justin Trudeau will represent Liberal Party of Canada while Alain Giguère, Hélène Laverdière, Isabelle Morin and Thomas J. Mulcair will represent the New Democratic Party.

Finally, from the municipal level, Mr. Denis Coderre, Mayor of Montréal, will be joined by Pierre Desrochers, Chantal Rouleau and Monique Vallée representing Équipe Denis Coderre pour Montréal, Richard Bergeron, Guillaume Lavoie, Valérie Plante and Craig Sauvé representing Projet Montréal – Équipe Bergeron, Réal Ménard representing Coalition Montréal - Marcel Côté, Steve Shanahan representing Vrai changement pour Montréal, along with Anthony Housefather, Christine Poirier, Bill Steinberg and Maja Vodanovic.

The complete list of public figures who have confirmed their attendance as of August 15 can be consulted here:

We would like to express our warm thanks to the Canadian Centre for Architecture for welcoming us to their magnificent garden, where the sculptures of Melvin Charney are displayed. Charney's work is also featured at Place Émilie-Gamelin, Montréal Pride's main site for free shows and events.


SOURCE: Montréal Pride

For further information: Lynn Habel, Director of Communications, Montréal Pride,, Office: 514 903-6193 x 3523, Cellular: 514 833-2859; Jean-François Perrier, Director of Marketing, Montréal Pride,, Office: 514 903-6193 x 3524, Cellular: 438 821-3978

Organization Profile

Montréal Pride

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890