Media Advisory/Photo Opportunity - 700,000 students perform cross-Canada simultaneous concert on Music Monday



    Coast-to-coast performance underscores importance of music education

    Visit www.musicmonday.ca for events in your local area

    TORONTO, April 29 /CNW/ -

    
    What:  Music Monday '09 - Canada's fifth annual national celebration of
           music education. On Monday, May 4th more than 700,000 students
           from every province and territory in Canada will unite in song as
           they perform the new theme song for Music Monday, "Sing Sing" at
           exactly the same time. "Sing Sing" was written especially for this
           event by Juno award-winning artist, Serena Ryder.

    Who:   Media interviews available with:
           -  Ingrid Whyte, executive director of the Coalition for Music
              Education in Canada
           -  Local teachers and students in communities across the country

    When:  Monday, May 4, 2009

           Music Monday events begin at 10 a.m. Pacific, 11 a.m. Mountain, 12
           p.m. Central, 1 p.m. Eastern, 2 p.m. Atlantic and 2:30 p.m. in
           Newfoundland and Labrador

    Where: TV/Radio: In your studio or at a Music Monday school celebration
           in your city
           Print: by telephone

    Why:   Music Monday was created by the Coalition for Music Education in
           Canada to celebrate the galvanizing power of music and demonstrate
           how that power is rooted in school music programs. On Monday, May
           4th nearly 2,000 schools across Canada will take their music
           programs outdoors to raise awareness for the need to protect and
           preserve music programs in our schools.
    

    About the Coalition for Music Education in Canada

    The Coalition for Music Education in Canada advocates for the
contribution that music education makes in the lives of all Canadians. We
believe that music is key - in learning and in life. It is our goal is to see
that all children have a quality program in music through their schools. For
more information, please visit our website at: www.weallneedmusic.ca.





For further information:

For further information: To arrange an interview or for more
information, please contact: Laurie Weir, Jason Squire, Trillium Corporate
Communications Inc., Cell: (416) 277-2453, (416) 322-3030,
laurie@trilliumpr.com, jason@trilliumpr.com

Organization Profile

Coalition for Music Education in Canada

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890