Media Advisory/Photo Opportunity - 6th annual Music Monday unites more than
700,000 students in song across Canada

Coast-to-coast performance underscores importance of music education

VANCOUVER, April 26 /CNW/ -

    
    What:    Music Monday 2010 - Canada's 6th annual national celebration of
             music education. On Monday, May 3rd more than 700,000 students
             from every province and territory in Canada will unite in song
             to perform the theme song for Music Monday, "Sing Sing" at
             exactly the same time. "Sing Sing" was written by Juno
             award-winning artist, Serena Ryder.

    Who:     Media interviews available with:
             -  Ingrid Whyte, Executive Director of the Coalition for Music
                Education in Canada
             -  Local teachers and students in communities across the country
             -  Serena Ryder, EMI Music Canada

    When:    Monday, May 3, 2010

             Music Monday events begin at 10 a.m. Pacific, 11 a.m. Mountain,
             12 p.m. Central, 1 p.m. Eastern, 2 p.m. Atlantic and 2:30 p.m.
             in Newfoundland and Labrador

             Visit www.musicmonday.ca and click on "Share Your Event" to find
             out what events are happening in your area

    Where:   In your studio, by telephone, or at a Music Monday school
             celebration in your city

    Why:     Music Monday was created by the Coalition for Music Education in
             Canada to celebrate the galvanizing power of music and
             demonstrate how that power is rooted in school music programs.
             On Monday, May 3 nearly 2,000 schools across Canada will take
             their music programs outdoors to raise awareness for the need to
             protect and preserve music programs in our schools.
    

About the Coalition for Music Education in Canada

The Coalition for Music Education in Canada advocates for the contribution that music education makes in the lives of all Canadians. We believe that music is key - in learning and in life. It is our goal to see that all children have a quality program in music through their schools. For more information, please visit our website at: www.weallneedmusic.ca.

SOURCE Coalition for Music Education in Canada

For further information: For further information: or To arrange an interview, please contact: Jason Squire, Beatrice Bastedo, TRILLIUM Corporate Communications Inc., Phone: (416) 322-3030 ext. 227, 231, jason@trilliumpr.com, beatrice@trilliumpr.com; To arrange an interview in British Columbia, please contact: Greg Descantes, Pace Group, Phone: (604) 646-3564, greg@pacegroup.com

Organization Profile

Coalition for Music Education in Canada

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890