LIBRIS AWARDS 2014 Longlist Announced Celebrating Excellence in Canada's book industry

Nominees include Chris Hadfield, Bobby Orr, Alice Munro and Joseph Boyden

TORONTO, March 24, 2014 /CNW/ - Retail Council of Canada is thrilled to announce the longlist for the 2014 Libris Awards, nominated and voted on by members of the Canadian bookselling community. The annual Libris Awards honour outstanding achievements made in every part of the book industry, from authors and editors, to sales reps and distributors, to booksellers of all kinds.  A record number of nominations were submitted for consideration this year, creating a longlist that is diverse and showcases the talent working across the country to connect Canadian readers with meaningful books. The longlist will be voted on by book industry members, with a shortlist being released in April. The winners will be announced at the Libris Awards Gala taking place on June 2, 2014 as part of Retail Council Canada's annual STORE Conference.

A limited number of media passes for the Dinner are available.

Libris Awards 2014 Complete Longlist

Author of the Year
Charlotte Gray
Andrew Pyper
Alice Munro
Joseph Boyden
C.C. Benison
Louise Penny
Margaret Atwood
Christopher Hadfield
Amanda Lindhout

Fiction Book of the Year
The Crooked Maid by Dan Vyleta (HarperCollins Canada)
The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper (Simon & Schuster)
Hellgoing by Lynn Coady (House of Anansi)
The Orenda by Joseph Boyden (Hamish Hamilton Canada)
The Gifted by Gail Bowen (McClelland & Stewart)
Kicking the Sky by Anthony De Sa (Doubleday Canada)
Emancipation Day by Wayne Grady (Doubleday Canada)
Born Weird by Andrew Kauffman (Random House Canada)

Non-Fiction Book of the Year
The Massey Murder by Charlotte Gray (HarperCollins)
A House in the Sky by Amanda Lindhout and Sara Corbett (Scribner)
Clearing the Plains: Disease, Politics of Starvation, and the Loss of Aboriginal Life by James Daschuk (University of Regina Press)
The Lonely End of the Rink: Confessions of a Reluctant Goalie by Grant Lawrence (Douglas & McIntyre)
The War That Ended Peace: The Road to 1914 by Margaret MacMillan (Allen Lane Canada)
Orr: My Story by Bobby Orr (Viking Canada)
Arthur Erickson: An Architect's Life by David Stouck (Douglas & McIntyre)
An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth: What Going to Space Taught me About Ingenuity, Determination, and Being Prepared for Anything by Chris Hadfield (Random House Canada)
The Great Escape by Ted Barris (Dundurn)
What Lies Across the Water by Stephen Kimber (Fernwood Publishing)

Bookseller of the Year

Another Story Bookshop
Blue Heron Books
Bolen Books
Book City
Book Mark
Chat Noir Books
Curiosity House Books
Galiano Island Books
McNally Robinson Booksellers
Mosaic Books
A Novel Spot Bookshop
Perfect Books
Westminster Books
Words Worth Books

Campus Bookseller of the Year
The Book Store at University of Western Ontario
Brock University Bookstore
King's Co-op Bookstore Ltd
UBC Bookstore
University of Manitoba Bookstore
University of Regina Bookstore

Specialty Bookseller of the Year
Bakka Phoenix Books
Barbara-Jo's Books to Cooks
Ella Minnow Children's Bookstore
Grenadier Militaria Inc.
Kidsbooks, Vancouver
Mabel's Fables
P'lovers: The Environmental Store
shopAGO Bookstore
WhoDunit? Mystery Bookstore
Woozles Children's Bookstore

Editor of the Year
Anne Collins (Random House Canada)
Nick Garrison (Penguin Canada)
Martha Kanya-Forstner (Random House Canada)
Jennifer Lambert (HarperCollins Canada)
John Metcalf (Biblioasis)
Nicole Winstanley (Penguin Canada)

Sales Rep of the Year
Wendy Bush-Lister (Penguin Canada)
Ali Hewitt (Ampersand Inc.)
Sherry Lee (Simon & Schuster Canada)
Lynne Reeder (Random House Canada)
Terry Toews (HarperCollins Canada)

Distributor of the Year
HarperCollins Canada
North 49 Books
Raincoast Books
Scholastic Canada
University of Toronto Press

Small Press Publisher of the Year
Arsenal Pulp Press
ChiZine Publications
ECW Press
Gaspereau Press
Groundwood Books
Inhabit Media
Nimbus Publishing
Pajama Press
University of Regina Press

Publisher of the Year
Dundurn Press
HarperCollins Canada
House of Anansi Press
McClelland & Stewart
Penguin Canada
Random House of Canada
Scholastic Canada
Simon & Schuster Canada

Young Readers' Book of the Year
Jane, the Fox and Me by Fanny Britt, Illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault (Groundwood Books)
The Road to Afghanistan by Linda Granfield (North Winds Press)
The Feros by Wesley King (Putnam Juvenile)
The Hypnotists by Gordon Korman (Scholastic Press)
Anywhere But Here by Tanya Lloyd Kyi (Simon Pulse)
How to Curse in Hieroglyphics by Lesley Livingston and Jonathan Llyr (Puffin Canada)
A Taste of Heaven by Meg Tilly (Puffin Canada)
The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten (Doubleday Canada)
Power Play by Eric Walters (HarperCollins Canada)

Children's Picture book of the Year
The Dark by Lemony Snicket, Illustrated by Jon Klassen (HarperCollins Canada)
Warning: Do Not Open This Book! by Adam Lehrhaupt, Illustrated by Matthew Forsythe (Simon & Schuster)
Whimsy's Heavy Things by Julie Kraulis (Tundra Books)
Not Your Typical Dragon by Dan Bar-el, Illustrated by Tim Bowers (Viking Juvenile)
The Night Before Christmas by Clement C. Moore, Illustrated by Barbara Reid (Scholastic Canada)
Lasso the Wind by George Elliott Clarke, illustrated by Susan Tooke (Nimbus Publishing)
Binky: License to Scratch by Ashley Spires (Kids Can Press)
This Little Hamster by Kass Reich (Orca Book Publishers)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Kenneth Oppel
Ellen Seligman
Joseph Boyden
Howard Engel
Robert J. Sawyer
Stuart McLean
Michael Neill
Douglas Gibson
Frans and Jini Donker

SOURCE: Retail Council of Canada

For further information:

or to purchase tickets, contact: 
Lesley Fletcher, Manager, MySTORE Book Industry
Retail Council of Canada

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890