Jon Stewart, Aretha Franklin, Heart and other greats headline Fallsview Casino Resort in June



    Broadway musical matinee schedule also announced

    NIAGARA FALLS, ON, March 12 /CNW/ - Fallsview Casino Resort announced
today that the June 2007 concert line-up for the resort's Avalon Ballroom
Theatre will include music legends Aretha Franklin, Peter Frampton and Heart,
The Daily Show host Jon Stewart, '80s superstars Huey Lewis & The News, '70s
icons Grand Funk Railroad, country star Gretchen Wilson and a special 'Magic
of Motown' night featuring Mary Wilson of the Supremes and the Motown sound
musicians the Funk Brothers.

    The June 2007 performance schedule for the Avalon Ballroom Theatre is as
    follows:

    Jon Stewart
    Friday, June 1
    Saturday, June 2
    Showtime: 9pm (Doors open at 8pm)
    Tickets start at $90
    Award-winning comedian, actor, author, producer and host of the
late-night television show The Daily Show, Jon Stewart takes the stage with
his unique blend of wit, charm and humor.

    Huey Lewis & The News
    Wednesday, June 6
    Thursday, June 7
    Showtime: 8:30pm (Doors open at 7:30pm)
    Tickets start at $35
    The classic rock legends perform your favourite hits, such as "Workin'
For A Livin'," "I Want A New Drug," "Doin' It All (For My Baby)," "Hip To Be
Square," "Power of Love" and "Heart of Rock & Roll."

    Grand Funk Railroad
    Friday, June 8
    Showtime: 9pm (Doors open at 8pm)
    Tickets start at $25
    One of the top selling rock groups of the '70s perform their numerous
hits, including "Loco-Motion," "Some Kind Of Wonderful" and "We're An American
Band."

    THE MAGIC OF MOTOWN
    Starring original Dream Girl
    MARY WILSON of the SUPREMES
    And THE FUNK BROTHERS
    Thursday, June 14
    Showtime: 8:30pm (Doors open at 7:30pm)
    Friday, June 15
    Showtime: 9pm (Doors open at 8pm)
    Tickets start at $25
    The original dream girl, Mary Wilson from the Supremes joins the
musicians who created the Motown sound, The Funk Brothers, to perform hits
like "Baby Love," "Stop In The Name Of Love," "Come See About Me" and "You
Can't Hurry Love,"

    Gretchen Wilson
    Thursday, June 21
    Showtime: 8:30pm (Doors open at 7:30pm)
    Tickets start at $45
    Chart-topping country sensation Gretchen Wilson performs hits like
"Redneck Woman," "Here for the Party," "All Jacked Up," "Homewrecker" and
"Holdin' You."

    Aretha Franklin
    Friday, June 22
    Showtime: 9pm (Doors open at 8pm)
    Tickets start at $45
    The Lady of Soul herself takes the stage to perform her multiple hits
such as "Respect," "Say A Little Prayer," "Bridge Over Troubled Water," "(You
Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman" and "I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love
You)."

    Peter Frampton
    Wednesday, June 27
    Showtime: 8:30pm (Doors open at 7:30pm)
    Tickets start at $25
    One of the defining artists of the '70s returns for an evening of his
greatest hits, including "Show Me the Way," "Do You Feel Like We Do," "Baby, I
Love Your Way" and "I'm In You."

    Heart
    Thursday, June 28
    Showtime: 8:30pm (Doors open at 7:30pm)
    Friday, June 29
    Showtime: 9pm (Doors open at 8pm)
    Tickets start at $35
    Classic rock sensations Heart perform over two decades of hits, such as
"Barracuda," "Magic Man," "What About Love," "Never," "These Dreams" and "Who
Will You Run To?"

    Tickets for these shows go on sale on Wednesday, March 14, 2007, at noon
and will be available at all Ticketmaster outlets, by calling Ticketmaster at
1-877-833-3110 or by visiting www.ticketmaster.ca. Tickets are also available
by visiting the Fallsview Casino Resort box office in person.

    Fallsview Casino Resort also announced a matinee show schedule for two
popular musicals that will be staged in the Avalon Ballroom Theatre in April
and May - Forever Plaid and Nunsense.

    
    Forever Plaid

                                                 Sunday, April 15
    Monday, April 2        Monday, April 9       Monday, April 16
    Tuesday, April 3       Tuesday, April 10     Tuesday, April 17
    Wednesday, April 4                           Wednesday, April 18

    Monday, April 23
    Tuesday, April 24
    Wednesday, April 25
    

    Showtime: 3pm (Doors open at 2pm)
    Tickets are $15
    One of the most popular musicals in recent memory, this comedic
production centers on four young, eager male singers killed in a car crash on
the way to their first concert. Enjoy the comedy, music and memories as the
group is revived to fulfill their dreams and give the performance that they
never got to give.

    
    Nunsense
    Monday, May 7         Monday, May 14         Monday, May 21
    Tuesday, May 8        Tuesday, May 15        Tuesday, May 22
    Wednesday, May 9      Wednesday, May 16      Wednesday, May 23

    Monday, May 28
    Tuesday, May 29
    Wednesday, May 30
    

    Showtime: 3pm (Doors open at 2pm)
    Tickets are $15
    When 52 of the sisters are accidentally poisoned, the Little Sisters of
Hoboken put on a variety show to raise money for the burial. Enjoy the comedy
and laughs as they encounter many unique characters that only add to their
show. This is a comedy presentation not to be missed.

    Tickets for these matinee shows are on sale now and are available at all
Ticketmaster outlets, by calling Ticketmaster at 1-877-833-3110 or by visiting
www.ticketmaster.ca. Tickets are also available by visiting the Fallsview
Casino Resort box office in person.

    Built on a cliff overlooking the world-famous Horseshoe Falls, Fallsview
Casino Resort is the largest and most elegant gaming resort facility in Canada
and the crown jewel in Niagara's stunning array of wonders. In addition to the
intimate, 1,500-seat Avalon Ballroom Theatre, Fallsview features a casino with
over 3,000 slot machines and 142 gaming tables, a 374-room luxury hotel, a
full-service spa and fitness centre, dozens of dining and shopping options and
over 30,000 square feet of meeting and convention space.





For further information:

For further information: Greg Medulun, Manager, Public Relations,
Direct: (905) 371-7630, Toll-Free: 1-888-FALLSVU, ext. 17630, E-Mail:
gmedulun@fallsviewcasinoresort.com

Organization Profile

Casino Niagara

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890