CVRD Signs Mining Contract for Moatize



    RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil, June 28 /CNW/ -- Companhia Vale do Rio Doce
(CVRD) announces that the government of Mozambique approved the mining
contract for the exploitation of the Moatize coal project, located in the
northwestern province of Tete.
    This event follows the approval of the project development plan by the
Mozambican authorities in early June. The contract has a duration of 25 years,
which can be extended for additional periods of time, and establishes the tax,
international trade and foreign exchange regimes that will govern the CVRD
investment in Moatize.
    This process began in November 2004 and the last steps to be taken
include the mining concession and the conclusion of the negotiations with the
local railroad and port operators for the logistics contract.
    The project involves the exploitation of an open pit mine for 35 years,
with an estimated average annual production of 11 million metric tons (Mt) of
coal products -- 8.5 Mt of metallurgical coal and 2.5 Mt of thermal coal.
    Roger Agnelli, Chief Executive Officer of CVRD, commented: "This is an
important step in our strategy for the coal business. We still need to reach
an agreement, which is in the final stage of discussion, involving competitive
costs for the logistics of the project," Roger added: "I would like to
highlight the support and partnership developed with the government of
Mozambique, which were very important for the smooth evolution of this
process. I am very happy with it."





For further information:

For further information: Roberto Castello Branco, 
roberto.castello.branco@cvrd.com.br , Alessandra Gadelha, 
alessandra.gadelha@cvrd.com.br , or Daniela Tinoco, 
daniela.tinoco@cvrd.com.br, or Marcelo Silva Braga, 
marcelo.silva.braga@cvrd.com.br , or Theo Penedo, theo.penedo@cvrd.com.br,  or
Virginia Monteiro, virginia.monteiro@cvrd.com.br, all of CVRD, 
+011-55-21-3814-4540 Web Site: http://www.cvrd.com.br

Organization Profile

COMPANHIA VALE DO RIO DOCE

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890