CMT announces fall 2008 programming highlights



    
    -  Bobby Brown and Julio Iglesias Jr. are crooning contenders in Gone
       Country

    -  Head into the locker room in Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders: Making the
       Team

    -  Get connected with CMT's new weekday video flow MyCMT Morning

    -  Music, news and interviews with Paul McGuire on CMT Weekend

    -  Five-star living 24-7 - see celebs at home in new episodes of CMT Star
    

    TORONTO, Sept. 18 /CNW/ - As the home of the best in country music and
family entertainment, Corus Entertainment's CMT announced today highlights
from its 2008 fall schedule featuring new series, new episodes and special
programming events.

    "This fall, CMT is bringing viewers a lineup of great new shows from here
and from south of the border, with even more interactive content for country
fans, including the popular online community MyCMT at CMT.ca," said Ted Ellis,
Vice President, Programming, CMT. "We've added two new series and two new
music video blocks to the schedule. In addition, comedy will continue to be a
big part of the mix with a new three-hour sitcom block and Canadian original
comedies coming to the network in early 2009."

    Gone Country - New Series

    A motley crew of celebrities learns the fine art of country crooning in
the new CMT series, Gone Country, hosted by country artist John Rich. This
series takes seven established performers from every realm of the
entertainment and music industries and immerses them in all things country for
a chance to break out as the next big country superstar. The eclectic cast of
performers include: Bobby Brown, Carnie Wilson (Wilson Phillips), Dee Snider
(Twisted Sister), Sisqo, Julio Iglesias Jr., Diana DeGarmo (American Idol) and
Maureen McCormick (The Brady Bunch). This series premieres in the show's
regular timeslot on Saturday, October 11 at 9 p.m. ET/PT, and also airs
Mondays and Thursdays at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT.

    Following the live finale of CMT's Chevy Karaoke Star on Thursday,
October 2 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, fans can catch a sneak peek of Gone Country
when CMT previews the first episode at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

    Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders: Making the Team - New Series

    Professional cheerleading takes hard work, determination and nerves of
steel as the new crop of recruits quickly finds out in CMT's Dallas Cowboys
Cheerleaders: Making the Team. This series reveals all the behind-the-scenes
action of the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleading try-outs as girls struggle to make
the team, survive boot camp and make their big debut as one of the most famous
cheerleaders in America. The series premieres in the show's regular timeslot
on Sunday, October 12 at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT, and also airs Tuesdays at 11
p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT and Wednesdays at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

    MyCMT Morning - New Weekday Morning Video Flow

    Beginning Monday, October 13, viewers can join CMT every weekday morning
from 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT to 11 a.m. ET/8 a.m. PT for non-stop videos and
breakfast-sized tidbits of country music news. MyCMT Morning is packed with
need-to-knows without interruptions, thanks to a continuous scroll and
sidebars - adding a satisfying start to an action-packed day.

    This November, MyCMT Morning goes interactive alongside CMT's online
community MyCMT. For more information on how to participate, viewers can visit
www.CMT.ca.

    CMT Weekend with Paul McGuire

    Starting Saturday, November 1, at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT, CMT's Paul
McGuire takes viewers through weekend afternoons with four hours of music
videos plus show clips and celebrity interviews.

    CMT Star - New Episodes

    From restaurants, to yachts, to ranches, country music artists live some
of the most lavish lifestyles. Viewers will get the inside dish on the stars'
luxury living in two new episodes of CMT Star.

    CMT STAR: COUNTRY'S RICHEST

    Will you be taking the Ferrari or the bling? Or both? In CMT Star:
Country's Richest, CMT opens the finest garages, jewelry cases and bank vaults
in country music to show how well-off celebs spend their cash. This
high-flying episode featuring Tim McGraw, Alan Jackson, Toby Keith, and Keith
Urban premieres on Friday, October 31 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

    CMT STAR: ESCAPES

    Where do the stars go when they need some A-list R-and-R? CMT Star:
Escapes features country music superstars Kenny Chesney, Shania Twain, Randy
Travis and Dierks Bentley on holiday on Friday, November 7 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m.
PT.

    COMING IN WINTER 2009

    From the production team behind The Wilkinsons, Crystal: Living the Dream
and The Tara Diaries, comes Going South (working title). This CMT and Henry
Less Productions original production follows the rise of Helena (Phyllis
Ellis, reprising her Gemini Award-winning role from The Wilkinsons) as she
becomes the head of a country music TV network. Featuring an ensemble cast
including guest spots from country music luminaries, Helena fights to stay
ahead of the game and gain the respect of her dysfunctional employees.

    CMT Canada, available in over 9.5 million homes, is Canada's source for
country music lifestyle programming. Exploring themes relevant to country
music and country music fans, the network offers an exciting mix of comedy and
dramatic series, movies and country music news, videos, concerts and specials.
CMT's Video Advantage Program, established in 2000, supports the production of
original music videos for Canadian artists. The station's website, www.CMT.ca,
is Canada's No.1 website dedicated to country music.

    CMT is owned by Corus Entertainment Inc., a Canadian-based media and
entertainment company. Corus is a market leader in specialty television and
radio with additional assets in pay television, advertising and digital audio
services, television broadcasting, children's book publishing and children's
animation. The company's multimedia entertainment brands include YTV,
Treehouse, W Network, Movie Central, Nelvana, Kids Can Press and radio
stations including CKNW, CKOI and Q107. Corus creates engaging branded
entertainment experiences for its audiences across multiple platforms. A
publicly traded company, Corus is listed on the Toronto (CJR.B) and New York
(CJR) exchanges. Experience Corus on the web at www.corusent.com.

    For high-resolution images, please visit:
http://www.corusent.com/mediacentre/tv/cmt/index.asp





For further information:

For further information: Molly Merrick, Publicist, Corus Entertainment,
(416) 530-2247, molly.merrick@corusent.com


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890