Celebrating Excellence in Sci-Fi and Fantasy: The 2007 SPACEY Awards, Viewer Voting Starts Today!



    
             A World Exclusive - Sunday, June 3 at 9pm ET/6pm PT

            Viewer's choice voting starts today at www.spaceys.ca
    

    TORONTO, April 12 /CNW/ - Casino Royale, Superman Returns and Battlestar
Galactica are among the top nominees announced today for The 2007 SPACEY
Awards. For the fifth year in a row the SPACE production team will travel the
globe to track down and honour the finest in science fiction and fantasy
entertainment. Featuring SPACE on-air personalities Kim Poirier, Jonathan Llyr
and Natasha Eloi, The 2007 SPACEY Awards will air Sunday, June 3 at 9pm ET/6pm
PT.
    "We're back for another great year of The SPACEY Awards, the only award
show that takes to the road, hunting down presenters and winners wherever they
live and work, on set, or by the pool," says Paul Gratton, Vice President,
Entertainment Specialty Channels, CHUM Television.
    "The continued popularity of sci-fi, horror, fantasy and comic book
adaptations are evident by a quick look at weekend box office grosses for
theatrical movies, and the ratings for such shows as Battlestar Galactica and
Stargate SG-1. That's why The SPACEYS present so many awards selected by SPACE
viewers - they are the ones who have ensured the enduring popularity of these
genres since the very earliest days of the moving image. And they are the ones
who return every year to cheer on their favourites during our annual SPACEY
Awards."
    Viewers can vote online in seven Viewer's Choice categories from April 12
to May 11. To vote, and for a full list of categories and nominees, please
visit www.spaceys.ca.
    A Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to famous Hollywood chimp
Cheeta, of Tarzan fame. Cheeta is the world's oldest chimp and recently
celebrated his 75th birthday. And a Special Achievement Award will be
presented to Emmy award-winning make-up artist Michael Westmore, best known
for his work on various Star Trek productions.
    Past recipients of the coveted alien-head award include The Lord of the
Rings and King Kong director Peter Jackson; The Lord of the Rings stars Viggo
Mortensen and Andy Serkis; comic book writer and artist Frank Miller; the king
of B-movies, Roger Corman; special effects creator Ray Harryhausen; horror
legend George Romero; Enterprise actress Jolene Blalock; and Spider-Man
director Sam Raimi.

    The 2007 SPACEY Awards premieres Sunday, June 3 at 9pm ET/6pm PT with
encore presentations Sunday, June 3 at 1am ET/10pm PT; Tuesday, June 5 at 10pm
ET/7pm PT; Wednesday, June 6 at 10am ET/7am ET; Saturday, June 9 at 11am
ET/8am PT; and Sunday, June 24 at 11:30pm ET 8:30pm PT.

    SPACE: The Imagination Station, a division of CHUM Television, is a
24-hour-a-day English-language national science fiction, science fact,
speculation and fantasy channel (www.spacecast.com). Since the station's
launch on October 17, 1997, SPACE has grown into one of the top-ranked
entertainment-based specialty channels. SPACE is truly the boutique station
for all those who dare to challenge their imagination.

    CHUM Television is a division of CHUM Limited (www.chumlimited.com), one
of Canada's leading media companies and content providers which owns and
operates radio stations, local television stations, specialty channels and
Internet properties.

    Please visit SPACE Media for high-res photos: www.spacecast.com/media





For further information:

For further information: artwork or screening copies: Alison Salinas,
Senior Publicist, (416) 591-7400 x2865, alisons@spacecast.com; Jennifer Lo,
Director of Communications, (416) 591-7400 x2761, jenniferl@spacecast.com


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890