Buckle up Canada! Red Bull Air Race goes live online



    TORONTO, Oct. 31 /CNW/ - For the first time ever, Red Bull Air Race will
broadcast live online at www.redbullairrace.com! The grand finale of the 2008
World Championship in Perth, Australia will air on Sunday November 2nd,
allowing Canadian fans to follow all the thrills and excitement online. Can't
catch it live? Don't fret - those who miss the live webcast will be able to
watch the replays afterwards.
    The Red Bull Air Race World Series - a motor sports competition based on
speed, precision and skill featuring the world's best pilots - is not new to
the Canadian scene. Windsor, Ontario and Detroit, Michigan played co-hosts to
the third stop of the 10-leg tour earlier this year, marking its first decent
on two countries at one time!
    Red Bull Air Race currently broadcasts on television stations in over
100 countries worldwide. The online webcast from Perth is just another way to
enjoy the ultimate final showdown of the season. "This is one more step
towards being able to provide the full Red Bull Air Race live experience and
it's something that our fans around the globe can look forward to in the
future," said Kim Bernhard, head of TV & New Media for Red Bull Air Race.
    It has been a season of ups and downs for the global motorsports
competition, which has seen second year sensation Austrian Hannes Arch
overtake Britain's Paul Bonhomme to lead the Red Bull Air Race World
Championship going into the final race. Arch needs just one point in the Perth
finals to clinch the title - but don't expect Bonhomme to give up that easily!
The hot favourite this year, Bonhomme could still win if he comes first in
Perth and Arch finishes with zero points. The Championship is by no means over
yet and will be turning up the heat in Australia!
    Don't miss out - log on to www.redbullairrace.com on Sunday 2nd November
to watch the race live at the following times:

    
    EDT Toronto: Nov 1, 11:55 PM - 02:30 AM
    PDT Vancouver: Nov 1, 08:55 PM - 11:30 PM
    MDT Calgary: Nov 1, 09:55 PM - 12:30 AM
    CDT Saskatoon: Nov 1, 10:55 PM - 01:30 AM
    ADT Halifax: Nov 2, 12:55 AM - 03:30 AM
    NDT St. John's: Nov 2, 1:25 AM - 04:00 AM
    

    Red Bull Air Race Series will also be airing on Rogers Sportsnet. Check
your local listings for time.
    Watch the live webcast teaser at www.youtube.com/redbullairrace.
    In the Red Bull Air Race World Championship, the world's best pilots race
through a low level aerial track made up of 20 metre (65 feet) high inflatable
pylons known as 'Air Gates', at speeds reaching 370 km/h (230 mph) and pulling
up to 12 g.
    For further information and photos please register at the new Red Bull
Air Race Newsroom which can be accessed via the 'Press' link on
www.redbullairrace.com. The Red Bull Air Race Newsroom is a full media service
providing print news, photography, radio, TV and web clips.

    
    2008 Red Bull Air Race World Championship standings (after 7 races)

    1.  Hannes Arch (AUT) 54 points
    2.  Paul Bonhomme (GBR) 45 points
    3.  Kirby Chambliss (USA) 44 points
    4.  Mike Mangold (USA) 43 points
    5.  Peter Besenyei (HUN) 31 points
    6.  Steve Jones (GBR) 29 points
    7.  Nigel Lamb (GBR) 22 points
    8.  Michael Goulian (USA) 16 points
    9.  Alejandro Maclean (ESP) 15 points
    10. Nicolas Ivanoff (FRA) 14 points
    11. Sergey Rakhmanin (RUS) 2 points
    12. Glen Dell (RSA) 0 points

    Video b-roll will also be available at:

    Live Satellite Coordinates:

    Date: November 02, 2008
    Time: 14.15 - 14.45 ET (= 19.15 - 19.45 GMT)
    Satellite: IS - 9 at 302 degrees East or 58 degrees West
    Txp. 24 C - Channel B (9 MHz c-band slot)
    Downlink Frequency: 4155.500 MHZ
    Downlink Polarisation: horizontal (X)
    Encoding: Tandberg 4:2:0
    SR 6.1113 msym/sec
    FEC 3/4 clear key
    Video Standard: 525/NTSC - 16:9 SD feed
    Audio: Ch 1: International sound left, Ch 2: international sound right
    





For further information:

For further information: or to book an interview, please contact:
Michelle Easton, Alana Lipton, Edelman, (416) 979-1120 ext. 347, 222,
michelle.easton@edelman.com, alana.lipton@edelman.com

Organization Profile

RED BULL AIR RACE

More on this organization


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890