Air Canada confirms flight diversion



    MONTREAL, April 24 /CNW Telbec/ - Air Canada confirms its flight AC34 en
route to Vancouver from Sydney, made an unscheduled landing at Honolulu after
encountering turbulence approximately one hour north east of Honolulu.
    The aircraft landed without incident at approximately 01:10 HT (07:10
EDT) and following inspection by Air Canada maintenance personnel re-departed
approximately two hours later for Vancouver at 03:16 HT (09:16 EDT). It is
scheduled to arrive in Vancouver at 11:44 PDT (14:44 EDT).
    Upon landing in Honolulu, the flight was met by Air Canada staff, as well
as medical and emergency services to provide assistance if necessary.
    Nine passengers and two flight attendants requiring medical attention for
minor injuries were treated on site and released to continue their journey.
Two passengers and two flight attendants remained in Honolulu for further
assessment for minor injuries. The two passengers have subsequently been
released by medical personnel and will be continuing their journey to
Vancouver later today.
    The seat belt sign was on at the time the turbulence occurred.
    The passenger list indicates the Boeing 777-200LR was carrying 256
passengers and 17 crew members.
    Air Canada teams will meet and assist passengers upon arrival in
Vancouver to provide any assistance that may be required.




For further information:

For further information: Isabelle Arthur (Montréal), (514) 422-5788;
Peter Fitzpatrick (Toronto), (416) 263-5576; Angela Mah (Vancouver), (604)
270-5741; aircanada.com


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890