TV Land Canada Reveals Fall 2007 Premiere Dates


    TORONTO, Aug. 9 /CNW/ - On TV Land Canada, everything old is new again!
TV Land Canada is pleased to reveal the premiere dates for its fall 2007
programming line-up. New to the TV Land Canada schedule this fall is Fantasy
Island; Hart to Hart; Love, American Style; It's Garry Shandling's Show;
several stand-up comedy series hosted by comedian Ben Guyatt; a spin-off of
the classic, The New Lassie; and two Lassie movies, Lassie: A New Beginning
and The Magic of Lassie.
    Can't get enough of your favourite classic series? TV Land Canada has
24-hour marathons of Remington Steele and Happy Days, and spends the Christmas
holidays with Lassie and Dallas.

    NEW PROGRAMS:

    IT'S GARRY SHANDLING'S SHOW
    ---------------------------
    Monday to Friday at 1pm, 8:30pm and 12am ET/10am, 5:30pm and 9pm PT
    Beginning Tuesday, September 4 at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT
    Set in Garry Shandling's condominium in Sherman Oaks, California,
Shandling plays a single man looking for the right woman. He spends his free
time with his platonic friend Nancy (Molly Cheek), his best friend's family
(Stanley Tucci and Bernadette Birkett) and his single mother. Much of the show
mimicked Shandling's own life, and although each episode of the show was
scripted, Shandling was known to improvise his lines.

    THE NEW LASSIE
    --------------
    Monday to Friday at 2:30pm, 7pm and 2:30am ET/11:30am, 4pm and 11:30pm PT
    Beginning Tuesday, September 4 at 7pm ET/4pm PT
    Premiering in 1989 and running for three seasons, The New Lassie centres
around a suburban family, the McCulloughs: Chris and his wife Dee, their two
children Will and Megan, and their dog Lassie. Like the original series,
Lassie and Will's adventures deal with subjects related to ecology and family
values. Stars Christopher Stone, Dee Wallace Stone, Will Estes and Wendy Cox,
and features the original Timmy, Jon Provost, as Uncle Steve.

    LOVE, AMERICAN STYLE
    --------------------
    Saturdays and Sundays at 1:30pm, 8:30pm and 1am ET/10:30am, 5:30pm and
    9pm PT
    Beginning Saturday, September 8 at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT
    In this anthology comedy series, each hour-long episode features a
line-up of different celebrity guest stars appearing in short stories or
vignettes about love and romance. An episode which aired on February 25, 1972,
entitled "Love and the Happy Days," became the pilot for the popular TV series
Happy Days. That episode was written by Garry Marshall and featured Ron Howard
(as Richie), Marion Ross (as Mrs. Cunningham), Anson Williams (as Potsie),
among others.

    FANTASY ISLAND
    --------------
    Saturdays and Sundays at 2pm and 9pm ET/11am and 6pm PT
    Beginning Saturday, September 8 at 9pm ET/6pm PT
    Guests travel to the remote island resort to have their wishes fulfilled.
Upon arrival, they are greeted by their mysterious host, the debonair and
suave white-suited Mr. Roarke (Ricardo Montalban) and his diminutive sidekick,
Tattoo (Hervé Villechaize), whose cry, "De plane! De plane!," became a popular
catchphrase.

    HART TO HART
    ------------
    Saturdays and Sundays at 3pm, 10pm and 2am ET/12pm, 7pm and 11pm PT
    Beginning Saturday September 8 at 10pm ET/7pm PT
    Jonathan Hart was a self-made millionaire - the CEO of Hart Industries, a
global conglomerate. His gorgeous wife Jennifer was a freelance journalist.
They are both amateur sleuths who find themselves up to their eyeballs in
murder, smuggling, theft and international espionage. Created by author Sidney
Sheldon, Hart to Hart stars Robert Wagner and Stefanie Powers as the Harts;
Lionel Stander as Max, their loyal live-in housekeeper and chauffeur; and
Freeway, their scruffy little dog.

    STAND-UP COMEDY AT TV LAND:
    ---------------------------

    Comedian Ben Guyatt is the host and producer of a number of stand-up
comedy television series, two of which are debuting on TV Land Canada: Veranda
Beach Comedy Club and Chaps Comedy Club. These programs showcase lesser known
comics, as well as some fan favorites.

    VERANDA BEACH COMEDY CLUB
    -------------------------
    Saturdays and Sundays at 9am, 7:30pm and 3am ET/6am, 4:30pm and 12am PT
    Beginning Saturday, September 8 at 7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT
    In 1991, Ben Guyatt hosted and produced Veranda Beach Comedy Club for 26
episodes.

    CHAPS COMEDY CLUB
    -----------------
    Saturdays and Sundays at 9:30am, 8pm and 3:30am ET/6:30am, 5pm and
    12:30am PT
    Saturday, September 8 at 8pm ET/5pm PT
    In 1990, Ben Guyatt hosted and produced his first stand-up comedy TV
series, Chaps Comedy Club, for 26 episodes.


    RETURNING FAVOURITES:

    REMINGTON STEELE - 24-HOUR MARATHON
    -----------------------------------
    Monday, September 3, beginning at 6am ET/3am PT
    TV Land Canada is on the case with Laura and Mr. Steele on Labour Day.
Spend your day off on the job with Remington Steele Investigations. The series
follows private eye Laura Holt and her partner, a mystery man who assumes the
identity of her fictitious boss, Remington Steele. Together, the two battle
crime as well as their feelings for each other. Stars Stephanie Zimbalist and
Pierce Brosnan.

    HAPPY DAYS - 24-HOUR MARATHON
    -----------------------------
    Monday, October 8, beginning at 6am ET/3am PT
    Spend Thanksgiving with television's premiere family, the Cunninghams.
Long before political correctness would make stories about clean-cut boys
obsessed with seducing girls and how to be cool unthinkable, there was Happy
Days. The show presented an idealized version of life in late '50s and early
'60s America. Stars Ron Howard and Henry Winkler.

    CHRISTMAS EVE WITH LASSIE:
    --------------------------
    Monday, December 24
    Celebrate the festive season with the world's most famous and beloved
dog, Lassie, with Christmas episodes from the original series and the TV Land
Canada premiere of two Lassie movies.

    LASSIE
    Over the course of 691 episodes, Timmy never fell down a well. Although
the series was known for a dramatic well rescue that never occurred, Lassie
rescues Timmy from bank robbers, runaway trains and rapid rivers. Stars Lassie
the Dog, Jon Provost and June Lockhart.

    The Christmas Story (Season 5) - 6am and 3pm ET/3am and 12pm PT
    The Christmas Story (Season 7) - 6:30am and 3:30pm ET/3:30am and
    12:30pm PT
    Yochim's Christmas - 7am and 4pm ET/4am and 1pm PT

    LASSIE: A NEW BEGINNING - 11am and 8pm ET/8am and 5pm PT
    Lassie accompanies two orphan children, Samantha and Chip, on a hazardous
journey from Arizona to Southern California in search of their only living
kin. This television movie stars Sally Boyden, Shane Sinutkom, John McIntyre
and Jeanette Nolan. (1978)

    THE MAGIC OF LASSIE - 1pm and 10pm ET/10am and 7pm PT
    Lassie is taken away from freckled-faced Michael Sharrett by evil Pernell
Roberts, who hopes that the boy's grandpa, Clovis Mitchell, will sell his
valuable vineyard in return for the dog. But Roberts' scheme falls through,
and Lassie makes her getaway, embarking upon a grueling trek to be reunited
with her young master. The film, which was the first Lassie theatrical release
in nearly three decades, stars Jimmy Stewart and Mickey Rooney. (1978)

    DALLAS - 48-HOUR CHRISTMAS MARATHON
    -----------------------------------
    Tuesday, December 25, beginning at 6am ET/3am PT
    Big hair, shoulder pads and family dysfunction at its finest. The
quintessential '80s soap opera chronicles the exploits of wealthy Texas oil
millionaires, and their shady business dealings and backstabbing ways. Stars
Larry Hagman, Linda Gray, Priscilla Presley and George Kennedy. Spend
Christmas and Boxing Day with the Ewings, and follow the build-up and
resolution to TV's number one mystery - who shot J.R.?

    TV Land Canada is devoted to providing viewers a range of familiar TV
favourites that celebrate what is best about television. It is the one place
on the dial that people can always count on for timeless TV satisfaction -
guaranteed. On TV Land, everything old is new again (www.tvlandcanada.com)! TV
Land Canada is owned by CTV Limited, a division of CTVglobemedia.



For further information: or for artwork or screening copies: Alison
Salinas, Senior Publicist, (416) 591-7400 x2865, alisons@chumtv.com; Jennifer
Lo, Director of Communications, (416) 591-7400 x2761, jenniferl@chumtv.com