Media Advisory - Global health alliance to make major vaccine announcement

GENEVA, Sept. 26, 2011 /CNW/ - On Tuesday, September 27, 2011 the GAVI Alliance (the Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunisation) will make a major announcement about vaccines to protect children in Africa and other developing countries against diarrhoea and pneumonia -- the two biggest killers of children. This new funding for rotavirus vaccines in Africa along with the continuing rollout of pneumococcal vaccines in developing countries, is expected to have a major impact on child mortality and the health of future generations.

WHO:  

Seth Berkley MD, CEO, GAVI Alliance
Dr. John Wecker, Director of Vaccine Access and Delivery, PATH
     
WHEN: 

Tuesday, 27 September 2011 - pre-registration is required
Teleconference media briefing at 15:00 GMT (1700pm CEST, 8:00 am PST, 11:00am EDT)

TELECONFERENCE DETAILS:

The GAVI Alliance invites you to join a teleconference at 15:00 GMT (1700pm CEST, 8:00 am PST, 11:00am EDT)

To receive the toll-free dial-in information and confirmation code, email Stephanie Snyder at Stephanie.Snyder@gmmb.com.

Find out more about rotavirus disease and the vaccine:
http://www.who.int/nuvi/rotavirus/en/index.html

Find out more about GAVI and rotavirus vaccines:
http://www.gavialliance.org/support/nvs/rotavirus/

The GAVI Alliance is a public-private global health partnership committed to saving children's lives and protecting people's health by increasing access to immunisation in poor countries. GAVI Alliance partners include developing country and donor governments, the World Health OrganisationUNICEF, the World Bank, the vaccine industry in both industrialised and developing countries, research and technical agencies, civil society, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and other private philanthropists.

SOURCE GAVI Alliance

For further information:

MEDIA CONTACTS:


  Jon Summers, +1 202-607-8819 Jon.Summers@gmmb.com (Washington)
Dan Thomas, +41 79 251 8581 dthomas@gavialliance.org (Geneva)
Ariane Leroy, +41 22 909 6521 aleroy@gavialliance.org
Kathleen Powderley, Responsible Communications, 416-803-5597, Kathleen@responsiblecommunications.ca (Toronto)

Profil de l'entreprise

GAVI Alliance

Renseignements sur cet organisme


FORFAITS PERSONNALISÉS

Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .

ADHÉSION À CNW

Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.

RENSEIGNEZ-VOUS SUR LES SERVICES DE CNW

Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.