First Nation Native Youth Use Social Media to Highlight "Project 60" to Claim Their Vote

MEMBERTOU, NS, April 21 /CNW Telbec/ - In light of the upcoming federal election, First Nation Youth are staking their role by highlighting the emerging importance they are going to be taking in Canadian electoral politics.  "Project 60" comes from the fact that it was 1960 before First Nation people won the right to vote in Canadian federal elections.

Atlantic First Nation youth will show short videos they produced in a national videoconference, Wednesday, April 27th, 2 p.m. Atlantic, 1 p.m. Eastern, noon Central, 11 a.m. Mountain, 10 a.m. Pacific.

The videos are available on the internet at http://firstnationhelp.com.

Native Youth plan to leverage the fact that they are the nation's fastest growing population segment and take on the issue of high on-reserve voting versus traditionally low involvement with national politics and their plans to change that.

By using new mediums of communication and social media, these youth will educate and empower others on the importance of voting and the impact of elections have on themselves and their communities.  First Nations organizations across Canada collectively have the most robust videoconferencing network in Canada.

The first forty-five minutes of the videoconference will be dedicated to viewing and discussing student videos.  The remainder of the conference will be allotted to candidates from across Canada who want to participate and make a short partisan or non-partisan appeal about Native issues, democracy, and their candidacy.

Reserve your videoconference location by contacting the Help Desk, or watch via live webstream on the internet (linked from http://firstnationhelp.com).

Atlantic Canada's First Nation Help Desk provides Videoconferencing, Connectivity, and Help Desk services to Atlantic Canadian First Nation Schools, Health Centers & Communities. You can follow on Twitter @firstnationhelp or Facebook: www.facebook.com/firstnationhelp


SOURCE Mi'kmaw Kina'matnewey

For further information:

Atlantic Canada's First Nation Help Desk
Faye, Nilan, Jetta, or Kevin
admin@firstnationhelp.com
902-567-0842 (phone)

Profil de l'entreprise

Mi'kmaw Kina'matnewey

Renseignements sur cet organisme


FORFAITS PERSONNALISÉS

Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .

ADHÉSION À CNW

Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.

RENSEIGNEZ-VOUS SUR LES SERVICES DE CNW

Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.