Métis Nation of Alberta General Election to take place on September 2, 2014

EDMONTON, Aug. 28, 2014 /CNW/ - The Métis Nation of Alberta (MNA) is encouraging all Métis Nation members to exercise their right to vote in the upcoming General Election taking place on September 2, 2014. The Election will cover all elected officers of the Métis Nation of Alberta Provincial Council, including the provincial president, provincial vice-president, and one (1) president and one (1) vice-president for all six of the regions of the Métis Nation.

Nominated provincial presidential candidates include current Provincial President Audrey Poitras; Donald W. McCargar; and Melanie Omeniho. Provincial vice-presidential candidates include current Provincial Vice-President Toby A. Racette; and Joe Pimlott.

Polling stations open on September 2, 2014 from 8:00 am - 8:00 pm.  

SOURCE Metis Nation of Alberta

For further information: For information about polling station locations, please visit the MNA website at www.albertametis.com or contact: Sheila D. Genaille, LL.D, Chief Electoral Officer, Suite 202 - 11738 Kingsway Avenue, Edmonton, AB, T5G 0X5, Phone: (780) 453-0294 or 1-800-252-7553 (ext. 212), Fax: (780) 732-3331, Email: elections@metis.org