Special Olympics Team Canada and the closing ceremonies for 2013 Special Olympics World Winter Games in PyeongChang

TORONTO, Feb. 4, 2013 /CNW/ - Closing ceremonies for the 2013 Special Olympics World Winter Games PyeongChang will be webcast on February 5 at 6:20 a.m. AT/ 5:20 a.m. ET/ 4:20 a.m. MT/ 3:20 a.m. PT on Special Olympics ustream channel (http://www.ustream.tv/SpecialOlympics).

These games have gone very quickly, and Special Olympics Team Canada has had an outstanding year at these games having won 38 gold, 33 silver and 18 bronze medals so far. (The games end on February 5, 2013.) More importantly, the majority of our team's athletes have achieved "personal best" performances in their sport and division.

The 2013 Special Olympics World Winter Games in PyeongChang, Republic of Korea is the largest sporting event in the world this year. Special Olympics Team Canada fielded a 141-person team including 102 athletes and 39 coaches and mission staff. They are competing in six of seven sports at the 2013 World Games: alpine skiing, cross-country skiing, figure skating, floor hockey, snowshoeing, and speed skating.

Media are reminded:

In addition, media outlets with access to SNTV footage can find broadcast-quality video in the organization's video news releases.

www.teamcanada2013.ca/ www.specialolympics.ca

SOURCE: Special Olympics Canada

For further information:

Mary-Margaret Jones
Public Relations & Marketing
Special Olympics Canada
416-927-9050 ext. 4383
419-909-5911
mmjones@specialolympics.ca